Roscosmos: SpaceX Starlink satellite and space junk may narrowly miss Progress cargo ship in orbit - 2021.




According to ROSCOSMOS, SpaceX Starlink satellite and space junk may narrowly miss Progress cargo ship in orbit. 


Russia's Progress 78 cargo ship, launched towards the International space Station, will get dangerously close to  a Falcon 9 rocket fragment and SpaceX's Starlink satellites, a statement from ROSCOSMOS


From ROSCOSMOS' Baikonur cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 7:27 p.m. EDT (2327 GMT) on Tuesday (June 29).


The Progress spacecraft was launched, which carries about 3,600 lbs. (1,633 kilograms) of cargo including , fuel, food and other essential elements to the orbital outpost. According to statement, Progress 78 will approach the two objects about three and a half hours before its docking at the space station, which is scheduled at 9:02 p.m. EDT on Thursday (July 1) (0102 GMT July 2).

The close approach which is detected by the ROSCOSMOS TsNIIMash Main Information and Analytical Center of the Automated System for Warning of Hazardous Situations in Near-Earth Space (ASPOS OKP), which triggered a potential collision alert.ROSCOSMOS said in the statement issued on the space agency's website on Wednesday (June 30) at 7:47 a.m. EDT (1147 GMT).


Based on preliminary calculations,

 the Starlink 1691 satellite will be just 0.9 miles (1.5 kilometers) away from Progress 78 on Thursday (July 1) at 5:32 p.m. EDT (2132 GMT). Three minutes later, a fragment of a Falcon 9 booster left in orbit in 2020 is expected to approach the spaceship within 0.3 miles (500 meters). 

writer:

Tajamul Fayaz

Author is the student of science, especially mathematics and is interested in writing articles on " The Mega Guide ".

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post